Thursday, December 2, 2010

140.6 done!



Well I did it! Each part had its own challenges that were out of the ordinary but its done. I am now feeling good about the whole thing. For a while there I didn't want to think, look or try anything related to Ironman (even the final blog).

So how did it go? Overall I am very happy with my time. My goal was a finish and a target of 16:45, I did it in 15:45 although the time is neither here nor there as I finished!

The event start on Thursday and goes all the way through to Monday. Its probably the best organized thing I have ever been to. On Thursday we headed over to get registered and tattooed for race day. The line wasn't too bad and I was in and out, including the number tattoo, in about 1 hour. I spoke to other people who went on other days and the numbering was over 2 hours! So I was wrist banded and tattooed for the next 5 days. Awesome.

On Friday I headed to the Gym and Ran a mile and headed in for a swim. It felt good showing off the numbers and 2 other people swimming were also doing the event. So a brief chat and a wish of good luck ensued. Then that night it was off to the Dinner. The Dinner was great, its an open air event with an area sectioned off for VIPs. They got wine, glasses, waiters and that sort of thing. Then a couple of speeches, the mayor of Tempe was Hilarious. The voice of Ironman was the MC and he asked people to stand up who had lost weight for the event. I made it to the last 6. Another 15 pounds and I would have made the stage! I was proud of my weight loss then. They had the oldest and youngest up, husband and wife and Father and Son. All very interesting. They also dropped a bomb that the water would be 61F and to expect cold temps all day. The Dinner got very cold too.

Saturday was a full rest day but I still had to check in my bags for transition and my bike. At an Ironman you don't setup a towel and put everything beside your bike. Its in bags and you can do a full change if you so desire. I checked into a Hotel too, the A-Loft it was very posh and the closest restaurant was an In and Out Burger. I thought of having one after the race. We got to the hotel at 7 and then I realized I had left my timing chip etc at the house. A wee bit of stress but quickly sorted.

Race Day:
Up at 5am. Well I wouldn't say I really slept all night as I was a bit excited. The transition opened at 5am but as I was already setup I thought getting there at 6 would be good. I started to walk and a fellow Triathlete picked me up and gave me a lift over. So I wandered around and sat for a bit just enjoying the surroundings. I couldn't spot the family before the race as they got there just as I had to change and start getting ready in the water. 6:30 strip down. I felt naked as I was the only one in shorts and no wet suit. Everyone kept looking too.

Swim:
A quick dive off the pier about 10 minutes before race start led to an almost immediate heart attack and the 1st of 2 times I questioned if I could do this. It was cold, very cold. Colder than a cold thing from coldville that's cold. yeah that cold. So I swam back to shore and stood neck deep till my body went numb and then headed out to the start. It took the next 5 minutes to get my head in the water as it kept pushing back out as a reaction to the cold.

Then we were off! Its a battle not a swim. People try to swim over you into you and all sorts of things. Defending your face is very important. I even T-Boned someone half a mile in as they decided to swim across the pack. It settled down for the most part at about the half way mark. I had decided early on not to fight through the pack but just to sit where I was. This worked well until the last 400 meters where everyone started running over each other and the people breast stroking didn't liked to be passed. Both sets were just being stupid. The breast stroke guys didn't want over taken so as you got beside them they would swim ahead crawl and then go back to breast stroke (wider kick, easier to get kicked in the face). The overtaking thing is a theme of the event.

Then the steps appeared and I was out thanks to a friendly volunteer as the water wasn't deep enough yet so climb out. This guy got a work out lifting people out. So my watch said 1:30 (Better than I hoped) in the water and officially 1:34 plus a 20 minute transition. That water must have left me a bit out of it! People quit after completing the swim as they were too cold to continue and they had wetsuits on.

Bike:
So after a full change it was off out on the bike. I kicked off at a rate and realized I needed to slow down a bit to get my bearings. That was just as well as my calves seized up badly for the next 10 miles. At one point I thought I had pulled something, grunted and grabbed my knee. A guy went past shouting "I feel the same". So just a case of getting through it. I settled into the same group of people. The went faster on bit I went faster on bits. I was in the group of people for about 40 miles. We didn't talk once. On the climb at the turn I got up to about 16mph which didn't bode well for the way back as this hinted at wind! Boy was I in for a shock. On the turn it was a full on headwind! Maximum down hill was 16mph. Which was faster than a lot of people. They got upset and get overtaking me and slowing down. Pride is a bad thing. So this was the theme for the bike, tail wind recovering for hell and headwind killing forward progress. At the end of the second loop I was almost done in. I thought of all the people cheering me on and knew a DNF wasn't for me by just giving up. Then the family appeared. Just what I needed awesome! I decided at this point that the only way for a DNF was to get carried off or a Marshal telling me I'm done. Once that was settled I never thought about it again.

On the last lap the wind moved slightly and gave us a break on the highway but was stronger when we headed in towards Tempe. Thank goodness for all those pain in he neck headwinds the weeks leading up to the event. I moaned about them then but they did me a big favour. So whether on the cycle ranges from cloudy, rainy, sand storm, hail and sleet! I cant say I noticed too much as I was in slog mode. 7 hours on the bike, again better than I hoped with the conditions! Again Ironman came through, they have volunteers to rack your bike so I handed it over and headed for the run change area. Full change again and out on the run course. Kathleen said people were handing their bikes over and saying things like "sell it!" as the bike portion was harsh.

Run:
I find out there is a aid station about 400 yds from the start so I finish more food and head out on the run. I stop and guzzle some cola. It turns out when you are addicted to something its a good idea to keep some handy. I'm off and running and surprisingly have no effects from the bike or swim yet; as expected my pace is faster than a 12 minute mile. So the genius that I am I decide to run 5 miles and walk one. This is working well as my times are spot on around mile 10 I notice that I'm on for a sub 15 hour pace! The other great thing is my Friend Ray left work early and was there cheering me on with the family (He took the next day off so he could cheer me on). My second walk mile is across where the family is so I run that and walk the next. Big mistake, its dark and I have to walk 2 miles as one area is too dark to run in. I start to freeze up. However I keep going with it, run walk, run walk etc. At this point I realize that I can walk this out and finish. Its great to know I can do it! So I keep going.

Mile 23 looms, a quick break at which point I start getting dizzy and nauseous. Fortunately I'm beside an aid station so I bang back a bunch of Chicken Broth and Power Aid. I have 3 miles left and 2 hours 20 left so I decide to walk it out to be on the safe side. A finish is a goal and I'm not blowing it for 30 minutes! I end up chatting to a guy for a mile who had similar problems. His wife had to walk with him for a bit too but he made it. I see Ray and know I'm nearly there he runs to the corners to cheer me on. That was great!

I ran up to the finish and had to slow down as I wanted a good picture at the finish line. As I came round the corner I wasn't expecting a stand full of people, it was brilliant and then the finish. Its done! (I didn't here the guy say "You are an Ironman" but I assume he did Chrissie Wellington congratulates me and a volunteer escorts me away for my medal, T-shirt (Doesn't fit) and hat. I get to see the family then and its done.

I even give my Medal to Isla who tells me she gets one from the Gym every 8 weeks and throws it back at me! I hope she reads this when she is older! I can honestly say at this point that there is no question that I gave it everything as I'm a bit out of it. Ray goes to get my bike, David stay with me and Kathleen goes to get something. At this point I can honestly say its 50/50 on medical as I think if David hasn't been there I would have lay down and gone to sleep as it was we ended up going to the car and David held my hand the whole way. As it turns out I was just done and cold. 5 minutes of heat in the car and I was fine. We got home and Lauren was still up too as she was so excited and proud. I found out that a lot had stayed up and Willie and Susan had stayed up through the night! Sierra was pretending to be asleep in bed and said "Good, now I can finally go to sleep".

It really wasn't till I finished and seen all the comments on facebook, email, twitter and texts that I realized how many people were supporting me through the whole thing. I'm not sure I can put into words how great it was.

Other highlights are the 10 hours or so the volunteers were out there. The Phoenix Triathlon Club had a great setup in police uniforms and a setup of a western town. The guy in the dunk tank that if you through a bottle off the bike just right he got dunked. The ASU cheerleaders! The amount of people at the start of the run area was a bit daunting, all cheering you on; Brilliant though. The kids got bells to ring and they were there at the end, very tough. The support!

I can honestly say this took the whole family to get here and I'm glad I did it and its done.

I'm not good at putting things into words so I have tried to put everything from the day in here but there was so many people supporting all over the world that I am totally overwhelmed and proud to have so many great friends.

I am officially an Ironman.


Saturday, November 20, 2010

All done but the event.

I'm checked in. Bike is checked in. Equipment checked in. Less than 24 hours to the event. I'm a wee bit tired and stressed as we went the meal last night and the water is 61F which is quite chilly. When I survive that Ill be on a winner.

The meal was fun I am one of one 6 people who lost over 50 pounds for this. I thought there would be tons of us! I didn't lose enough for a prize but it was cool none the less.

My number is 890 and you can see me on Ironmanlive.com.

Friday, November 19, 2010

The wait.

This wait is killing me! I feel I am putting on weight and I just want it over. I have my numbers painted on and I am registered. I will head over to the event again today just to check it out with a little more time and then its the meal tonight.

I did a small bike yesterday and a small run the day before. Im off to run a mile and just keep the joints ticking over for the weekend.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

In Arizona!

Well Im here and looking forward to signing in tomorrow and getting my swag etc. The drive down was uneventful. We booked my room today at Aloft. The price was twice the regular price, I got the "special" Ironman rate.

So I need to get in a small run, swim and nap today as the drive down was a bit tiring. Im probably over sensitive but hey its my first Ironman so a nap will be good.

So far I know to follow me is at www.ironmanlive.com and you can watch me run across the line. My number is 890. Thats all I know for now.

Sunday, November 14, 2010

and its done...

The training is done. A few small swims, bikes and runs left and then the event. Happy Days. "Studies show that now activity the week of the event is best." However I need to keep my knees, shoulders, ankles and hips oiled and moving!

My run today went well a "small" 13 miler. I did blow my nutrition as I thought the smaller events this weekend didn't need Gatorade, Bars etc. I was slightly off and did run out of energy at mile 11 but I was able to make it.

The swim went brilliant! I had to do only 2600yds and so I timed the main set of 80 lengths. 42 minutes to 76 lengths (1mile) and 44 for the 80. This made me feel really good. My times in the pool have looked bad but this was after a 13 mile run. The last training event of 9 months went good. This give me good vibes for the event!

A slight change of plan on our trip to Arizona. My friends are sick and I have a low immunity due to the Arthritis so we are heading down Tuesday so one more cold work out!

David is excited as the whole thing is drawing to an end and he is excited to get his Dad back. I told him once this is done we can bike to school any time and do things at the weekend. He has known this for months, what a great, patient boy!

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Quicker bike ride


I only had to cycle 50 miles today. With the weather a trip to the bike shop was needed to get warmer socks (I found some fun ones) and covers for my shoes. My shoes are very cold so I needed something. The bike went well. The wind was all over the shop today. The trip down was mostly into a head wind and got a bit hot with all the layers I had on. At about mile 22 the wind became a tail wind and the sun disappeared. At mile 25 I turned round to a head wind and it was freezing. It looked like I was heading into a storm. By mile 45 the sun was out again and I had another tail wind. My goal was an easy 15mph average just cruising along. To some extent I got that but I had to work a little harder.

I was only out for 3 hours which was really nice!

Friday, November 12, 2010

What a day.

I got the 3 mile run in late this afternoon and swum 4 lengths and my shoulder hurt so I gave up.

My mind isnt in it. I woke up to shitty day and seemed to get crap all day.

Thursday, November 11, 2010

More snow!

Well more snow today. I woke up to an inch on the ground and its still snowing. I hoped it would clear up in the afternoon and it did. I had some more coaching from Heather before heading out for the cycle. The swim went well I think. I learned some more technique on the pull through and I swam a length on the 3 breaths as I wasn't thinking about breathing.

Its Colder than a cold thing from coldville that's cold! I wrapped up well for a bike ride and headed out. My gloves and socks weren't thick enough but I headed round and was debating a climb or a head home. I headed home. Just as well as it was dark when I got home. The time change is really messing me up. A couple of guys leaned out their car up at Stadley lake and shouted some stuff. I was hoping for a red light at the bottom so say hi but no luck.

I kept the tempo low as I was struggling to go fast in the cold and it was recommended in the training book. When I got home the thermometer said 30F and I headed straight for the shower as I was a bit cold.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Solid Run and Swim.

The run went well. I had a few beers with a friend the night before and boy did I feel it on the run. However 7 miles in (About 3/4 of the usual distance).

The swim went well too. Im getting the hang of some of the things Heather has been telling me and its amazing. I feel I'm not working as hard but Im going the same or quicker than before. I cant sustain it for a great deal of time but its a hell of a lot of progress. I usually take 2 strokes and breath but 3 strokes and breath is more natural and you will go faster. I think I will do ok on the swim.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Stress

Well I didn't get my bike in today. Bad weather was forecast for the afternoon. However my bike was in getting a tune up. I got it back at 1pm and was going to head out when it started raining and snowing. So out came the trainer. God do I dislike that thing. So after a few miles I'd had enough and was heading out but the weather had got worse. Back on the trainer. I did 6 miles and gave up. Not the best but it might be good for me to take it easy.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Tired and Taper!

Im dead tired at the moment. Its been getting worse over the last couple of weeks. However its taper time! The hard work is over and its time to take it a bit easier.

I got the information from Ironman today and boy are there a lot of rules. If I break 3 I get DQ'd whats that all about! Its a new rule for Ironman this year. The intro goes: Welcome from the race director, Welcome from the Mayor of Tempe and then a welcome from the head referee. There are a lot of ways to get DQ'd especially if you are new to the event. I am concerned about 4 bike lengths behind the bike in front. That's hard to judge as a newbie. It used to be 2 lengths but a professional complained a few years ago and now we all have it. Then you have 20 seconds to close that gap and complete a pass.

I'm not really competing but rather participating in what I hope is a fun event. Here is hoping I don't fall foul of a rule.

A lot more info in the document but in the first 5 pages its loaded with how not to finish that Ill read the rest later. Im specifically interested in. Changing rooms and special bags.

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Good run and Birthday Party

The run went well today. I ran 21 miles and upped the tempo for the last 2 miles as I had run out of time on running any further due to Isla's birthday party. The only problem was I couldnt walk very well. I could have done with a sit down. So Ibu-profen and a shower and out to the party. I just sat at the side for quite some time as I was in no shape to move around. It was great to watch Isla having fun with her friends.

The swim went fairly bad at night. The first mile took an hour and the second 45 minutes. Im putting it down to being tired. Its a concern for the event but not much I can do now and I will be doing this first not last on the day.

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Great Bike

So according to the book I should cut my effort by about 25% for this bike ride. I spoke to a friend too who said he did a 100 2 weeks before the event and it didn't do him any favours. So 75 it is. I did another in and out ride down through Chatfield Reservoir and back. I would have liked to go further but I didn't want to risk it. I ate less this morning and only took 1 bar and 3 Cliff bloks. It went well and I felt great! I even got a respectable speed going. The chatfield reservoir "hill" was a breeze too.

After the last month I have been getting worried but this went well. I used the top cog quite a bit. I have found it a bit tiring at times but it went well and using it keeps your average speed higher. Although high reps are better sometimes its nice not to worry about that.

As this is my last big bike ride I think this helped my mentality and helped me go further.

Friday, November 5, 2010

Good run and no swim

My plan is to go fast on the run on a friday. A short run at a high tempo. The last few weeks this hasn't gone well. I dropped a mile off the distance and ran at a 10 minute mile. My HR was well up! This explains why its been so hard over the last few weeks. The Heart Monitor doesn't work for the first 2 miles so its hard to figure out. However this time the HR stayed in the 150s. So I got in the 5 miles and felt better.

No swim as I got the pool and I had a short malfunction. Cant say I'm disappointed as I'm a bit tired.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Easy bike

I got on the bike and everything hurt. I wasnt looking forward to this bike ride. Maybe it was mindset or I was tired. Anyway I just went for a bike ride. The constant training is making me strongly dislike it all. So I biked at an easy pace and just took in the scenery. The nice thing was I took a new road and got up to a fast speed and it was fun.

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Run and no well

I'm no well (said with a very whiny voice). It was on the NyQuil last night and that helped a bit. The run was to be a 10 milers at just above a 11 minute pace. Work was a bit stressful and I didn't get going till late in the day. At mile 7.5 I had to give it a rest. I checked the level 1 training plan and I was still above that so I'm doing OK there.

Then it was swim time. I just went to the pool and got on with it, at some point I felt a lot better and the lurgy is gone! The swim went very well too.

I seem to spending a lot of time checking and double checking myself now. Its only 3 weeks to go. The cold freaked me out a bit but I'm confident I can do this thing. A friend advised me to start tapering this week and not wait till 2 weeks out. Although the book doesn't say taper I notice this week they are doing less too. So I'm hopefully on course.

I am really excited about the light at the end of the tunnel.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Uh oh... That sick feeling

I have been feeling a bit sicky today and last night. Thats a worry. So I psyched up for a 30 mile ride of which I hoped to get a record in. No luck, it was a fairly average ride in the end. It was just good to get out on Tuesday and finish a ride after the last few weeks!

No dogs today and 3 miles less climbing. You cant beat it!

Monday, November 1, 2010

Good Run and swim

Well its Monday and I am running and swimming. We realized late that Kathleen had to go out at 7. I thought I could fit in my run and swim before hand but I had a meeting at 11 and that blew everything. So I got running and did 18 miles plus a 2 mile walk. My feet were killing me! Thats not a good sign but I will be taking pain killers so Ill be fine.

Kathleen rearranged her meeting so I could get a couple of hours off before my swim then it was off out for a 2 miles swim. Happy days. I got it all in and got to spend Sunday with the family. That hasn't happened in a while.

We started talking about whats next. I think that what's next is a few weeks on the couch.

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Pictures of my ride

Its Halloween so I took the day off to go out with the wife and kids. Ill run tomorrow and take a day off work. I have been wanting to put some pictures of my weekday rides in. However we were out driving that way the other day so I took some pictures then. I didn't want to crash and break the camera! The pictures are all at the farthest part from the house.



Saturday, October 30, 2010

Bike went ok.

The bike was a struggle but over all I managed to keep my average above my goal and got in a good distance. Originally this should have been a rest week. Now I understand why as this has been tough. A fairly negative report follows but overall I did well.

Well what a mixed bike. I was cruising into the wind at an average of 17.5 until about mile 25 I hit a wall of wind. God I'm tired of this, its gusty and never stays in the same direction. So 12 miles of podding along and then I gave up and turned round. I can honestly say I nearly gave up at mile 30. So as I had a head wind all the way down you would think I would cruise back? Nope. A few miles and then back to crappy headwinds and side winds. (I nearly titled this "I'm done with this ***t).

By Mile 50 I started feeling bad. It turned out I forgot to take my Blood pressure and Arthritis pills. Marvellous. I made it back though and kept my average above 15mph. So a small victory.

So tomorrow is my day off so I cant stack up on food tonight. We are off to Boo at the zoo tomorrow and then out Trick or treating later. So I took Monday off for the long run and swim.

Friday, October 29, 2010

6 miles and a swim

The 6 miles run went. 5 miles with a 2 mile jog. It was all supposed to be speed work but it didn't happen. This week has not gone well. The legs have nothing in them.

So I headed out on the swim and that went a little better. As I did my sets I felt better and better. The guy in the lane beside me lapped me in 150 yards! During one of my rests I timed him down the pool. 20 second lengths! Holy Moly I can only dream of that speed. He was also explaining to a guy in the other lane what I was doing wrong. Sigh.

So on my final length I put everything Heather has been showing me together and did a 22 second length. I have to train my body to breath every 3 strokes instead of 2 but that takes time and probably will only last about 200 yards in the event.

Thursday, October 28, 2010

890

I just checked the Ironman Arizona page. I'm number 890. I'm on the list. Gulp.

Brick time!

Well the bike ride finally worked out. I forgot about the 8 mile climb but overall a good bike ride. No really heavy wind and a nice Autumn day. The dog has been fenced off, the owners must have realized what was going on.

So on my return it was off out for run. Just under 2 miles as I forgot to see what the mileage was at the start and an average of an 11 minute mile run. Nice!

Work is getting hot and I don't know how much longer I can stay under the radar. I'm doing 2 jobs now. The IM is 35 hours of training and my job requires 40+ hours. Thanks goodness this is the last week of heavy training.

I just read some disappointing remarks from Ironman fans about fat middle aged guys just under the 17 hour mark. What a bunch of... well it can be a bit discouraging.


Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Another super run and ok swim.

Well I'm very conscious of my swim times now. The ultimate disaster would be to train for 11 months and fail at the first hurdle. So I'm going for it on the swim. It the hardest to judge so its all out! Swim went well I did level 2 instead of level 1 by accident. As this is my last full week Ill stay at that level.

The run went well. On the treadmill again my knee is a bit of a mess and getting worse, stiffer by the day. I have this picture of me at the end of the run walking like quasi-modo as my knee has packed in. So 10 miles. 8 11 minute miles and 2 10 minute miles. My HR is definitely back to normal I couldn't hit 130 at an 11 minute mile pace, I like to be in the high 130s or low 140s. The 10 minute mile sorted that out.

Great movie: The run down I got a massive spike of Adrenalin and other happy stuff in my system with the big ending. I love it when that happens!

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Windy Day!

Wow! We havent had a day like this since May, maybe April. The weather was still sunny but very windy. I was a bit tired but dug in and headed out. There was nothing in the legs after the weekend, but I thought I would keep going as I havent got a decent cycle on a weekday in for a while.

So the wind was gusty but manageable, boy did that change when I hit open ground, just past Simms. It was a headwind I was in the aero position doing a very slow pace when the bike got lifted! Very slightly but that was enough. So a quick U turn and home. Wow the speed I put in with that tail wind it was brilliant.

Anyway I made it home and only got blown about once again. Then on the extremely sucky trainer. My friend cycled 100 miles on one of those things. I don't know how he did it.

Monday, October 25, 2010

The emperors new clothes!

Well a few observations on the week. First I am totally Knackered. Right now I am exhausted and do not want to look at a run, bike or swim ever again. One more week and then its taper time!

Now I found out a bit of a shocker on Friday. I went to a different pool and noticed a mark on my shorts when I was getting ready to swim as the mirrors are setup differently in the other gym. So on the way out after the swim I checked it properly. My tri shorts are so old they are see through! Holy moly! How long have they been like that? I have no clue. That would have been embarrassing at the event.

I have also decided to raise money for a charity. I think I know which one, Im just working on the details.

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Big run, no swim.

I went with same format as last week. After lunch run. However we had a late lunch and so I had to cut a mile and half walk out of the run.

I ran 18 miles today! However I had a very upset stomach which led to challenges stopping and starting. This distance stuff is starting to take its toll. The walk of half a mile at the end was a hobble. The first 14 miles went well and the last 4 were a challenge. I remember when 14 were a challenge so I'm moving in the right direction.

No swim tonight due to the stomach and pain. I'm going to head into work early and stop at the pool. Its my day off but I have 1 week left and then its taper time!

Saturday, October 23, 2010

My first 100!

I got prepared early for the ride today as the days are getting shorter. We headed off to Soccer and then I headed out directly afterward. A friend of mine came along for part of the ride so we did the Platte river, C470 and bear creek trail.

I started with about 10 pounds of water and Gatorade. The start of the ride was weird as I was out of breath for 5 miles and I found it very strange. I managed to keep the average at 15 till about the last 2 miles of the first 67 miles. As I was back at the car I got rid of the camel back and anything else that was empty. Then it was off out for the Clear Creek trail. So I needed to get to 84 and turn around. So off I went into a massive headwind for the whole way west, it was very tiring and tough. The Clear Creek trail is not the best trail in the world. Its poorly sign posted and disappears from time to time and you have to use the force to keep moving forward. Anyway I ran out of trail so headed back. There is one bit that reminds me of bmx and another bit where the trail rises as a pyramid. I actually got air on that one.

To get in the extra 5 miles I had to use Ralston trail which is a lot better sign posted. Then back to the car at quite a good rate due to the tail wind. I'm not happy with the clear creek trail but its becoming a bit of a challenge to see if I could get to Golden.

My speedometer is exactly 1% different than the Garmin so I had to add a mile on at the end. It was great to get in the 100 and have a good idea of how long it will take.

I'm well chuffed.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Run and swim - week 19.

The run was mixed, the goal was 6 miles at a recovery pace of 10 minute mile and 9:30 minute mile alternating. the first 4 miles went well but I wasn't feeling it so I had to walk for 200 meters the run the rest for the last 2 miles. It was tough, my HR showed 170 for a split second but I got it in.

Then Kathleen told me to go out and see the soccer team so I had to get a swim in early. For time reasons I went to the pool at 77th and Sheridan and bumped into my Arthritis Doc! Very cool. Its unusual to meet anyone I know so it was good to see someone I recognized. The swim itself went well but I stopped 200 yards. I was doing something wrong with the pull and kicking my left leg weird leading to a lot of pain.

Then I went out with the soccer team, they had beer, I had a diet coke.

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Mixed bike ride

Well my bike officially sucks. Before I could cycle today I fixed a puncture on the front and back tyres of the bike and then headed out. I was flying due to my recent good news. I was actually shooting up 88th and 18.5 mph! I have never gone that fast up the hill. I was really hoping to do an average of at least 17mph and then disaster another flat. So I clicked lap to see just how fast I could change the Tyre. I got it all sorted out and started filling the Tyre and boom my inflater broke. I was able to get some air in, enough to ride at 10mph. Then start hobbling home.

Its really cool the physics of a CO2 canister emptying. This one went from warm to sticky ice cold!

The rescue team was on the case. I had limped back about 2 miles before the car came into range and as a stroke of genius they brought a pump. So I didn't have to get carried home. I cruised home with grand plans of a cycle tonight and a run. However it turned out I had to work.

So 6 flats and one torn gear cable in 2 weeks! I'm getting a tad bit scunnered at the bike. However I'm in the event and that's all that matters!

Im In!

Holy Moly! I signed up for the Ironman today. The guys at Ironman had been dragging their heals a little due to something in Kona. So now I have a focus again that was definitely waining. The down side is I had to fund it as the deadline was tomorrow but I may get the money back. The upside is I am in!

Now its officially time to freak out, this is brilliant! 140.6 miles I am looking forward to it. I should get more details on Monday.

So interesting things on the sign up. I had to enter my Medical membership details and details of emergency contacts. A lot more info than anything I have ever entered, just in case I collapse.

Right I'm off to start planning 10,000 calories of nutrition for race day!

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Good run average swim

The run went well today, I ran 10 miles at a 11 minute mile pace. I'm not sure I can do that on the day but I got my HR up which was the aim. The more shocking thing was my HR did not hit 160 once! I'm feeling a little more confident about the whole thing now that my body is returning to normal.

I want to run outside more but wasn't able to that and I have been increasing the tension on the treadmill from soft to hard. I think this is contributing to my knee and ankle pain. I need to make sure and take the recommended ibuprofen!

I was tired for the swim and it didn't quite go as fast as I would have liked but I got it in. The last 2 sets were kick board and warm down. I just swam instead of kick board as I was done with sets. My distance isn't going up on the swims anymore. I'm thinking on jumping a level in training to get more distance in. I'm not sure.

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Thorns vs Kevlar

Well another 35 mile ride on the books. However, disaster at mile 15! I got another flat tyre. This one was on my new Thorn resistant tyre and thorn resistant inner tube. The thorn was the size of a house (ok about a centimeter). I forgot to get new CO2 canisters after my trip to Phoenix, so I was stuck. The backup pump was in my backpack which was at home. It was a nice location, so I sat at the side of the road and called the rescue crew.

I got picked up and we headed to the bike store where I got some CO2 canisters. By the time this was all over I didn't have time to run or bike. I thought about trying to get a bike/run in later but work beckoned and it turns out I need my job.

Monday, October 18, 2010

Who came up with that stupid rule!

Well I was reading the FAQs on the Ironman to find out some information when I came across a rather rotten rule. I will be disqualified if I run across the line with David and Isla. An extension of that is that the previous Triathlons I have done its also banned now as the Ironman brand owns them too. The A types have won again!

Their argument, which is valid, is that if I run down the chute then I might stop someones PR. My argument is if you need to pile down a finishing chute after running, cycling and swimming for 12+ hours to get 2 more seconds you need some serious help.

As usual it is the most vocal people who win the day and I wonder how many family competitors are being penalized for this. This is a full family expedition and has involved everyone giving something. I had hoped that the finishing line would show my kids the fun of competing against yourself. In some ways it has already.

My triathlete magazine has also got rid of all the columnists and trainers who see the event as something fun to do. What a shame the world is turning this way.

So DQ or no DQ? Well Im thinking at that point Ill be so dead Ill fall over the line. Its a hard one but will probably go with no DQ. Oh aye and its my friends dime so Ill definately be finishing.

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Getting it all in.

I woke up tired so I decided to spend the morning with the family and run in the afternoon. That all went to plan and I had a good run. 16 miles and then walked one more. The new plan is to run and pad it out with a walk. I can see myself running the 26 now so its time to be realistic.

So I finished the run and had 2 hours and then back out for a swim. I stacked the colories in as best I could. Then 2 miles in the pool! 144 laps (ok its 6 short of 2 miles). I finished at 10:15 and so was a wee bit tired and amped at the same time. Bed time at 1am! I couldnt sleep.

My friend Katies did a full Marathon today. Well done. Then I heard 2 more people back home did great times on a 10K and half marathon. Again well done.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

The loneliness of a long distance cyclist

OK so 90 miles today. Im really starting to miss my family and I thought the signs saying "Can I have my Daddy back" at the finish of races were a joke! Sadly they are not.

I had Davids soccer which I have to pat myself on the back for as the team is awesome! OK maybe its how they all play at home and have fun but Ill take the credit.

Once the soccer was over its off out on the bike. I was carrying 176 oz of liquids as there was no where to get resupplied at that's 11lbs! So the plan was out Cherry Creek and then back, then down the Platte river as usual. The evil cherry creek trail got me again. I had to go 12 miles along it but at mile 7 I hit a road with no signs on where to go. So I headed back to do ralston trail. That was a good idea as I can now get on the trail system from my house. I ended up going past my indoor soccer and ended about a mile from outdoor soccer. This is good news for the future.

So after that its down Platte river, Bear creek, c470 and back on the Platte river. I have heard the term when you go on a long ride your moods will change and just persevere. This was obviously true today. I hit a huge low at mile 45 just before the bear creek climb and didn't recover until mile 65 but I kicked it up a notch and got a good rhythm going. Massive head wind today and my aero bars broke. Nothing that cant be fixed. I think I have a mental block when I up my mileage so Im glad Ill have done the distances before the race so that I know I can do them.

I need to get out earlier too as it was getting dark at the end. I hope we have no more 10am games or I'm in real trouble.

I think I'm done with accelerade. I think its the reason for my lows recently as when I switch to just water or Gatorade I seem to feel like I perform better. Don't get me wrong it works for some people and I may have the mix wrong but I'm done with it. I read an interesting article on all these things. Salt Pills seem to be the way to go. Here is the article http://www.bengreenfieldfitness.com

No map today as I forgot my Garmin - sorry Ray for not using the Garmin.

On another side not. Some people have been leaving comments I have been replying to them by email but just discovered that goes to a big black hole in Google. So I haven't been ignoring people I just don't know what I'm doing!

Friday, October 15, 2010

An ok run and great swim.

Crikey! My HR was through the roof today on the run. A 5 mile run in 48 minutes. Canny beat it! The down side is my HR hit 160 by the end, that hasn't happened since May. Still you have to start somewhere again.

The swim went remarkably well. I hit times I haven't seen in a long time. I caught myself checking the clock on some of the sprint routines and thinking I'm very slow or just over target! So a quick use of the watch and I did 100 in 1:55. That's brilliant as I'm on schedule!

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Broken bike

Well I put the bike together which took a while and then headed out for a ride. I made it about 3 miles and realized I had a problem. I looked back to a frayed cable and my gears weren't working correctly. So I headed home and I had planned a brick so I went out and ran my 1 mile. The 1 mile went well 9:30 for 1 mile! The bike wasn't good.

The guys at Golden Bear had it fixed in no time, what an idiot I am! So no biking this week with a 90 mile ride coming up on Saturday.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Not bad Run and swim

No cycle yesterday. I was exhausted from the travelling. This morning Kathleen couldn't wake me as I was so tired!

I run 8 miles today and my HR was up around 150 by mile 3. It hasn't been that high since August! Anyway I got them in at 11 minute mile pace.

The swim went OK and I was just glad it was over.

Mentally I'm in a slump at the moment. I had been looking forward to the trip to Phoenix and kicking the ball out the park with good performance due to the lower altitude. It didn't quite go as planned leaving me with a lot of questions on whether I can do this. Don't get me wrong I will be at the start line. I used to be comfortable in my swim time and bike time. I'm left with questions on the both. Ill be practicing changing a tire as 2 punctures will leave me totally hosed. I need to get back on the horse and just get it done.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Run Shenanigans

My mood wasn't very good this morning. My iPhone wasn't behaving, the treadmill wasn't behaving and the punctures yesterday left me feeling a bit less than motivated. Still I got in a good breakfast and headed out on the trail.

I ran along the Canal trail I had used for an Olympic triathlon a few years ago. Ironically the distance I ran was the same as I biked last time. Its a very pleasant way to spend a morning it was in the low 80s and nice.

The first 6 miles went well and then things started going badly, I lost music at mile 2. An upset stomach materialised at mile 7 and I ended up walking most of the rest of the way. Things went down hill and I ended up doing just under 14 miles. However the upside is I still managed a half marathon in a good time!

Around mile 10 I was very down as I am very worried about the whole Ironman thing. I called home to chat and also Scotland to my sister. This got my spirits up a little to get home. Its a bummer that my first outdoor run was so bad.

Saturday, October 9, 2010

One is none, two is one.


Bike ride went well. I have a feel for the course and its quite a good course.

Holy Moly! Puncture central! I was in a bike shop a few days ago and the guy said Ill get a lot of punctures. I translated that to Ill get a puncture. So off I went on 22 mile circuits of the course. Mile 22 - puncture. Mile 44 - puncture. Mile 79 puncture. All around the same area! People were very helpful. Puncture number 2 I just started walking, I didn't look round as I had nothing to fix it with. However a nice lady stopped and gave me an inner tube and CO2 cartridge. So off I went again and decided to keep going and risk another puncture.

Everything was going well, by mile 66 I was exhausted but pushed on and decided to get in 80 miles not the 88 I could have done. I got into cruising mode and was enjoying it; Lauren, Ray and Sierra drove back and gave me a cheer at mile 77. Very cool. So I can see the car and Boom another puncture! Now here is the cool part. I texted Lauren and Ray to come back and get me but in the mean time I started walking. A car going passed stopped and seen if I was OK and were willing to help, they were AZ bikers. While Ray and Lauren were getting the car the Police drove past and I thought they were stopping but instead they took off, you can roll down your window and make sure I'm OK!

Lots of cyclist stopped whenever I got a puncture which was great so I would have to say AZ cyclists are awesome. ADOT and the police (Arizona Department of transport) 0/10, the road was awful. I think the only time the road is clean is once a year by the Ironman and they probably pay the costs!

Friday, October 8, 2010

Poor Day

The day didn't go as expected. I targeted a 6 mile run between 11 minute mile and 10 minute mile. However I ended up trying a 10 minute mile recovery and 9 minute miles. I completely blew up at 4 miles, I should have been more reserved.

On to the swim. I did about 3/4 of a mile and stopped. I was tired and have a big ride tomorrow. I think trying to fit in the extra swim on Thursday may have been too much.

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Arizona!


I was up at the crack of dawn as I didn't want to miss my flight. I got there an hour early and headed to the gate. I missed the A and B boarding as they started early so they could take off on time. No problem, I still got an Isle seat. Now hear is the karma thing. I lady came on and no one would give up a seat so her daughter and her could sit together. So I did. Hopefully when I need a seat with David or Isla Ill get it now.

I got in and realized I couldn't get the cycle in in the morning so we went swimming as I missed my swim the night before. So 2200 yds. No pain but a bit slow. Ray pointed it out. Then the farmhouse and a bike shop as TSA decided my CO2 canisters were a hazard. The place we went was called focus cyclery. That was a real bonus as the guy knew his stuff and they sold BMC bikes! He gave me a great ride to do. I was only going 35 miles so I just hit some cool terrain at the end. However most of the road was bike friendly.

I was late back and it got dark. There is nothing like failing light to make you go faster into a head wind. I now see why its important to try the routes. I think I can go 1mph faster next time now that I know the course. Maybe next time.

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Getting ready to fly

Today is Packing Day. I targeted a 8 mile run at my normal pace of 11mph. However I only managed 7 miles and called it a day. My heart rate got up to the high 150s so I gave it a rest. This is very positive as I'm recovering well.

No swim today as I had to pack. The bike took a bit of time to dismantle. Especially the seat post, it wouldn't come off. Apparently carbon can bond to carbon. Kathleen and I got it sorted and then Doug came over and helped me pack the bike.

I'm all set for the trip.

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Give me back my core!

Today I am feeling much better and went out for my normal distance ride. Target was 35 to 40 miles. I had meetings all morning and was enjoying the work I have to do so before I knew it it was 2:30! I have soccer training with the kids at 5 and I cant go out after that as sunset is too early now.

So I jumped on the bike and off I went. Colorado was there to help me, the winds were perfect for pushing me up the hills. It was a great cycle. However the extra 5 miles put me in jeopardy of missing the soccer. In the end I got home, jumped in the car and went training. My brick workout for the day!

My body has almost recovered but the climbing is still tough. My stomach is still getting sore when I dig deep. Hopefully I'm almost back.

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Hard run and swim.

Well the goal was 15 mile run but I stopped at 13 as I was done and my HR was 150. I fairly happy with this as it shows progress.

After the run I started feeling tired. Dead tired. By dinner time Kathleen sent me to bed for a nap.

The swim went OK. After my 34 lengths on Friday my goal was 90 lengths today. I split it into 12 warm up, 66 main and 12 warm down. If nothing else it helps break it up. After 6 lengths I realized I was in trouble. I have been taking lessons on swimming recently and the conversion is to move away from your shoulders to using your core for power. My core is shot. So my stomach was sore again. I switched my plan to 90 at whatever it took. I slowed down and concentrated on the gliding and stroke management I had been taught without much power. So I did it! Hooray! It took me about 20 minutes longer than usual but I am happy.

The guy in the lane was shooting up and down the pool with a very cool MP3 player on. I was fairly jealous as I couldn't do anything but plod. However afterwards he brought up a conversation and congratulated me on my consistency! I think we probably got the same out of our workouts. He did a shorter distance with high heart rate. I was going for distance. Its interesting what other people observe - well sometimes, as long as its positive!

I'm worried about everything now but Ill re plan tomorrow and see how it looks. I need to research how long it takes to recover from strep (I finished the antibiotics today) as I can plan around how I normally feel but I'm a bit limited just now. Fingers crossed be the next long cycle I'm out of the woods.

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Dave vs the world.

I'm going for a "Chuck" type title today. I thought about "Dave vs Strep" and "Dave vs the crash".

Yes I crashed at mile 10. Its very annoying and I managed to bend part of my steering area. It wouldn't be my bike if something wasn't faulty!

The day started with an early rise with the boy. Then a soccer game at 10am and pictures at 11. I have to say I really enjoy coaching. The kids worked hard today and stepped up. Some of the kids got over their "fear" of the ball and stuck a foot in to tackle other kids instead of just running beside them. I even had a huge cheer myself when one of my kids stuck at it and scored.

So we finished soccer and I prepared for my bike ride. The target was 60 miles with a stretch of 70 miles. I ended up with 66. I forgot how hard it was to build a long ride. At mile 50 I was done but I made it! I had to use the aero bars a lot as it was windy. Whenever it gets hard I let my mind wander. So things like star wars "lock X foils and attack position" are fairly normal stupid things that go through my mind. Dreaming of crossing the line with everyone cheering is another good one.

On hind site I might have over done it as I'm all over the place right now. I had some problems with hydration, my stomach didn't like the accelerade. So now I'm banging back water, G2 like crazy. I'm also about to work out my Calories for the day. I don't think I had enough!

Friday, October 1, 2010

Retrain and Roller coaster part II

So I'm taking this week as another recovery week and will finish it off as such. Then a 5 week Peak work out period before a two week taper.

Today I planned a 6 miles at a very easy pace and then targeted 1600 yards in the pool. The run went OK but my heart rate still went above 145 during mile 5, this is not a good sign. I stopped at mile 5.

The swim is the first one in 10 days. I have forgotten a few things, my friend has been teaching me new techniques for swimming but they took a bit of time to remember. So I managed 34 lengths of 60 before I stopped. The top of my stomach was getting really sore, I'm hoping that this was just a result of "making myself long" which is my body moving from couch potato mode to swimming mode. The other option is something to do with strep and this would be bad.

Its a bit of roller coaster on the health just now. I booked my yearly physical to coincide with my peak workout so that I could show off my weight loss and how fit I was. Well the strep took care of that. However my Blood Pressure is through the roof and the E.K.G. didn't go well. Its been referred to a cardiologist as it "didn't look right". So a few sleepless nights until I get the results of that one! I swear my body just doesn't like me, it must be the amount of exercise I do and this is how its paying me back.

I'm swaying between a 50, 60 or 70 mile bike tomorrow. I am starting to settle on a 60 with the option to go another 10.

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Crikey! Take it easy.

Well after much deliberation I have decided not to bike today. Several of the family told me I was stupid for running yesterday. Ill take the day off, although pressure is mounting!

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Im back! With Strep!

Who says life isn't a roller coaster? I woke up feeling much better and started to plan for a run and swim. We went out for pancakes this morning as David is off and wanted to show Granddad what he likes to do. While we were there the Doc called every contact we had, not the nurse the doc! It turns out I have strep! What the Hell is that? So an IM to a friend and much googling we have the details. Now it turns out Isla has had it for 10 days - untreated. The poor wee soul.

So I went and got the prescription and ran 8 miles and the took my pills. Yes I said it 8 easy miles. The goal was 9 but as soon as my heart rate hit 145 I finished the current mile and called it a day. Just as well as Iron Man 2 was about to finish.

So with the news of the strep and it being contagious for another 48 hours I didn't go to the pool tonight. I'm starting to get stressed!

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Test Ride

WellI feel a bit better today so Im doing an easy bike ride with Henry, my father in law. I felt ok afterwards but still a bit tired and still taking some pills.

Will I be able to recover - lets start freaking out!


Sunday, September 26, 2010

Wheres Dave?


Dave's in his his bed.

I cycled 40 miles on Tuesday and one Wednesday started feeling tired. I ran 8 miles at 11 minute pace and felt event worse. By the evening I was running a steady 102 fever and this has lasted until Saturday where it dropped to normal, leaving me optimistic I could bike on Sunday or do something! I woke up at 1am with a stonking headache that couldn't be moved. Did I mention I'm alternating every 2 hours during the day between dayQuil (Day time benelyn) and Ibuprofen to keep my fever under control. Both do not interact with each other but Im still at 102!

Still no fever on Sunday but my head was splitting, I went to bed but got pissed off with this approach. So I thought I'd try a 40 mile bike ride, 20 miles with my father in law as I really wanted to show him the trails! Then 20 back by myself. So the weather didn't go as predicted and it hit 90 by noon. Not 3 as predicted! I have to say I was a mess by the turn around and opted to "punt" as they say out here. Kathleen took me home. I am now running another fever of 100, the headache is gone and back to feeling blah.

For the past month the quote has been "my cardiovascular system is willing but the body isn't" now its "my body is willing and cardiovascular is toast"!

Now blah doesn't bother me usually but when you are doing an Ironman in 7 weeks its a bit of a roller coaster ride.

Friday, September 17, 2010

Aerobars and Beer Fest!



My goal was 80 miles but I didn't get out early enough so I settled for 70 miles. They were good miles too! I didn't blow up and felt good at the end. Then it was off to the Great American Beer Festival.

I got new Aerobars for my bike this week too. I went for the T1 Vipers from Profile Design mostly as that's what the salesman said to take. I was a bit dubious of them but I have to say they are very handy. They took a bit of getting used to but when you have a head wind they help a lot. I also found that on downhill it was very easy to get fast as the bars put you in the aero position very easily.



They are a bit hard to maneuver on and it was hard to just stay in a straight line.

For the most part I used the bars and went at the same effort as sitting upright which resulted in an increase of speed of about 2mph. By mile 60 I was getting tired and used the bars to do the same speed with less effort. That was actually harder to do as it involved going at a slower tempo. The gears cant be changed from the bars.

Overall, if you ever have a head wind then get yourself some of these!

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Long exercise day

I took today off so that I could get my long run and long bike in this week. David got me up and we headed up to the bagel shop to get my supply of bagels for the week.

The target was 17 miles today so I had 1000 calories for breakfast. 2 bagels, a bowl of cheerios and a cliff bar. Then I filled up all my bottles with Gatorade, not accelerade its a bit thick for the run sometimes. I grabbed a couple of DVDs and off I went.

Instead of tricks to keep me interested I ran a steady 12 minute mile pace. HR was down at 88 for a while but I did not increase my pace. I made it! I did feel I could probably do another mile but I have to swim at night too. I didn't have to stop, sit or walk. I just did it!

I have been debating running outside a lot but I am reminded about why I keep that to a minimum. The left leg and knee especially help remind me that I do have arthritis and it will get really bad really quickly.

Swim went well. It was a bit tough but good.

I ate 5000 calories today but I livestrong.com shows 5300 burned plus the 2800 I'm supposed to eat just to stay alive! So I'm hoping Ive eaten enough for tomorrows big cycle.

Great Bike

Went out for a good Ride today. The plan was 3 hours but with my long training session on Wednesday and Thursday I went for the usual 2 hours. So 35 miles in! I felt good afterwards.

I started out trying to go fast but my left leg reminded me that I have to take it easy. I ended up spending about 15 miles "coping" with it. It culminated on a hill where I was climbing up remembering all the bad things I have done to the point where I nearly stopped. I caught myself and started looking for positive thoughts. The finish line, the kids - that sort of thing, before knew it I was off and going fine again. By the end I wanted to go further but having a job really sucks some times! Oh right, that's what pays for me to do these things.

Dog report: Usual, stupid dog came out again. This time I tried cycling straight and it ran and stopped in front of me. I screamed at it a bit but kept going. Every time! It must do that to all bikes that go by raising a question of whether the owner is arrogant and stupid. Complaints will result in the loss of the dog.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Stiff day

I cant remember the last time I exercised on a Monday! I remember now why this is my day off. The goal was a speed workout but I knew that after the weekend it should be a recovery workout.

My knee was the deciding factor. Any speed involved twinges and stiffness so it was a mix of easy running and a fast last mile. HR was a factor too. It was up about 10 beats a minute as my body is tired from the weekend.

Swim went well, a couple of obnoxious swimmers and the usual oddballs walking round the pool. I'm trying to follow my friends instructions on head up, stomach in and the drills to help with position and kicking. The drills are difficult.

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Better Day

I ran a half today at a 11 minute mile pace! I am very happy with that. I think I have a mini wall at mile 12, I ran through it this time and things got a bit better.

As I ran less than expected I went along to outdoor soccer and they were short a goalie so I played goal in the second half. Apparently you use your stomach muscles a lot when you run and also a lot when you punt the ball, that first kick out hurt! We were beaten 4-1 (I let in 1).

No swim today. I will be swimming tomorrow.

I have rehashed my training for the next week too. The next day off is Friday/Saturday and long run/swim is Wednesday, long cycle is Thursday.

Saturday, September 11, 2010

C'mon!

What a day and really... what a week. This week has been plagued by the dreaded allergic reaction I had. I finally gave in and made this a rest week and will have to pull out some stops next week to get the training in and the Beer Fest.

So why so happy? I went out on the bike and decided to do a 50 mile Time Trial. Holy Moly! 18.3mph average on the bike. Where did that come from? I am improving and that makes me happy.

Thursday, September 9, 2010

Small Bike ride

Well, what a rotten week. I have lost 2 days to this stupid reaction.

Last night didn't go well. I ended up taking some heavy pain killers to let me sleep this left me a bit out of it today. I went for a 16 mile bike ride in the afternoon and that's it. In my most desperate hour the doc really wasn't there.

There is nothing better than saying my discomfort is about an 8 out of 10 and getting told "Well lets wait another 24 hours", Huh? Really?

Here is hoping I can pick it up tomorrow.

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Unexpected day off.

Well we got home around 12:30 from the E.R. and headed to bed. Kathleen and the kids had to pick me up. I was in better shape on the way home than the way there - freaky. So off to bed and I slept! Soaked everything with sweat and couldn't get up. I only got up at 8:30 to call the doctors and then off to their place of work. I started feeling better at 12. It was mental.

The rash is a bit better but I'm exhausted so hopefully tomorrow I can get back at it.

Happy Birthday Sharon.

Monday, September 6, 2010

Wetsuit time

Its my day off and I have been off my ibuprofen for a week so its time to get wetsuit on and see if I'm allergic. This is my first real day off work and exercise in 8 months. I get the wetsuit on in the morning - no problems. We go out for lunch and then head to Chatfield reservoir which is a lot cheaper than bolder. Can you believe you cant swim in Stadley lake as Westminster says its a health issue for drinking water but smelly, polluting, leaky motor boats are not. Tut, Tut Westminster.

Anyway I swim 100 yards, roll the suit down, play with the kids for 20 minutes, roll it back up and swim another 100 yards. This is around 3. I can honestly say I enjoyed the time there, maybe next summer we can get a BBQ, some friends and some 3.2% beer and hang out there for an afternoon.

So we got home around 4:30. By 5 I was itchy. By six I was red and itchy. By 7 I was a mess, red from chest to knees. By 8 I was shaking, burning, feverish and a bit out of it. At 10 I tried to go to bed but I was nauseous too. So no urgent care open so I'm off to ER.

As usual they took the first impression and I got the there is nothing wrong, until I flashed a thigh! By 12:30 I was focused and recovering. The one thing we agreed on was that we forgot a contingency plan for if it went wrong - doh!

So I'm still allergic to pressure! bugger I don't remember it being this bad! Kathleen agrees.

Sunday, September 5, 2010

The dreaded long run and swim day.

Well this day is turning into the cant do day. I'm at the point now where I hate the mileage, its not fun anymore. I talk to Kathleen about quitting and how I cant do this but I'm still at it.

So 17 miles. Target 12 minute miles. So off I go at 11 minute mile pace as I really don't like jogging too slow as its too much thinking over a long period. I did the first 3 at 11 then dropped to 12 and alternated for a while. I hit mile 12 and started feeling awful again. This must be a wall or something. I stopped, I sat down, I started, I stopped, then I started walking. I walked 400 meters and started running again. I ended up doing this for the next 5 miles. So I did it and I did it in just over 12 minute miles. The last 5 miles were 14 minute miles.

So I did it. What does this mean? It means a re plan on running over 13 miles. I have never trained for anything over this distance, the body obviously remembers that distance and nothing more. Ill push for 19 next weekend as I have beer fest the week after.

Movies: The Sword and The Sorcerer - brilliant swashbuckler! Taken - fun.

The swim was a biggie! 3200yds. I did it and people commented I was so proud of myself. This weekend I did a 76 mile bike ride, 17 mile run and a 1.75 mile swim. Who does that? Well not me before!

Saturday, September 4, 2010

Big ride!!

So its the 80 mile ride day. I ate a bagel last night and 2 bagels this morning and also some cheerios. Then I planned my food for the ride. 3 cliff blok packets (180 each) and 4 bottles of Accelerade for the ride. The plan was to replace the Empty bottles at Hudson gardens with new gatorade.

So I got 80 miles in I blew up a little at 30 miles and struggled for the next 46, I didn't make the 80. It was tough. I think it must have been a cross wind day. I cycled the first 30 into a headwind thinking on my return trip Id get a rest, not so! It was a killer ride and not in a good way.

So when I got home I worked out all my calories for the morning ride and breakfast. So for a stationary person to lose 2 pounds a week I'm looking at 2800 calories. I had eaten 3200 calories that morning. However I had to get another 5000 calories in for the day, no easy feet! I did eat a lot and felt better and probably managed 6000 on the day. We are working on increasing calories!



My speed was too low for the Ironman. Ill get it next weekend.

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Run and swim and a good day off

I took my final mandatory unpaid day off today. I ran 4 miles at a 9:15 and 10 minute pace. It felt good. Then spent the day with the family which was great.

Swim went well too. 2000yds.

Bigger ride

It was a cooler day today and I forgot to charge my garmin so I went out around 12:30 which was fairly warm. It reminded me of early may. So I did the route a little different as I had to get in 35 miles. I headed up to the top as quick as I could and then did a few loops to get in 35 miles. I was tight on picking up David so I headed over there in full spandex. I felt like a poser! Anyway that added another couple of miles to the target.

I also decided to use livestrong for a bit to see if I can control my calories better. I ended up with 3000 calories for the day and estimated by the web site I should have got in another 2000! So I'm working on this a bit now. The rule of 1000 calories for breakfast is tough. After spending 5 odd years trying to limit my diet its hard to ramp it up!

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Sprint Tri!

My plan for the day went well, kind of. I had to cycle to school 3 times today due to losing Isla's shoe on the first attempt. We didn't find it. So that's 10 miles on the bike.

A friend of mine is helping me with my stroke at swimming, I blew off my usual training to try this out. It worked great, there are a lot of things I am doing wrong and can be easily fixed. Looking forward to me next training session to bring in the improvements. This was tiring but well worth it.

Then there was the run. 8 miles. Brilliant. I haven't been using dailymile as much as I should but things have been hectic. The shoes worked out well, no blood, no new blisters and they definitely felt lighter. Life is grand again.

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Back on the horse

Today I was expecting to cycle 35 miles. I did 30 and did it an easy pace. The bonk at the weekend has left me a bit out of sorts. The legs for the first 5 miles felt hollow but it picked up and by the end of it I felt good again.

Monday, August 30, 2010

New Shoes!

Well its my day off today. Thank goodness! Lately things have been a roller coaster of exhaustion. So we headed down to Road Runner Sports, our local running store. I opted to go through the whole measurement routine again as I have really ripped up my foot, heel and toes, so I wanted to see how it was going.

The measurement routine is free so you don't lose anything by doing it. Most running stores offer it in some way or another. I did started this 5 years ago and its immediately brought out benefits with no knee, hip and ankle pain. Buying a good set of shoes just wasn't helping without some advice.

Anyway as only a gadget geek can do I went the whole hog on the shoes. I got custom made insoles which I thought would maybe be another 30 bucks. Oops I got that wrong! However I went through the whole procedure and the first thing to note was I no longer need Motion stability shoes! My left foot is neutral now and the right only has a small over pronation. So I get a bigger selection of shoes and they will be lighter. I opted for a pair of Brooks as I will not wear Perl Izumi due to their marketing campaign. The shows feel awesome so I'm looking forward to Wednesday to try them out.

Sunday, August 29, 2010

Bonk!

I blew it. I ran until dropped today. At 11.25 miles I just stopped, I really couldn't do it. I cant think of a time where I have had nothing left. I tried to pick it up again, even walked a half mile but I really had nothing. Mentally and physically I was done.

All I can think of is my nutritional input wasn't right. Yesterday I Cycled 70 miles and burned about 6000 to 7000 calories. I had breakfast, a bagel and energy bar before hand and about 1500 calories during. Then Dinner and some chips. I missed out lunch totally! Then today I had some cereal, diet toast and an energy bar.

I burned about 2500 calories on the run so I think I just didn't eat correctly! I had visions of running the other 6 miles later in the day. Didn't happen. The swim isn't happening either. I'm a mess and cant hold a conversation properly at the moment. So I'm hydrating as much as I can and eating all sorts of stuff for energy. The mad thing is I got up from the run and cracked open a coke (aka fat coke), boy did it taste good, then I looked a the calories. 140 calories! All I thought was "is that all", what a long way from the evil of "fat" coke. It gave me enough energy to mo about again.

So this week has been a disaster. A great cycle was accomplished though but everything else didn't go so well. Time to brace myself and get the workouts in this week. Kathleen reckons I'm over doing it with taking David to school on the bike too. She is probably correct.

Saturday, August 28, 2010

Good bike ride.

I finally got a loop in today. 70 miles on the bike! I cycled out the Bear Creek trail and down C-470 and then up the Platte River trail. The Garmin stopped working for a while and I reckon I got in about 71-72 miles. The bike computer worked for the most part.

The Bear Creek Trail is nice as its shaded but its a bit bumpy. The really nice thing about it is when you hit Bear Lake park its all bike trail and no road. Getting on the C-470 trail took a bit as it wasn't sign posted.

On the water front it must have been hot or the sun was intense. I went through 84oz of Accelerade and 60oz of water! Thanks goodness for Hudson Gardens as I was able to fill up my bottles or I would have been in real trouble with 23 miles to go. I like that place a lot and will be cycling that area with my father in law. He might even like the gardens too!

I had to cycle through the Susan Komen three day walk which was a slow cycle as I kept coming up behind people. I hope they all made it!

Big news! I got the go ahead that I'm in the Ironman! I think I cycled very hard the first 10 miles as I was so exited! So time to get serious on this! Joking! I'm not sure how I could get any more serious with Kathleen divorcing me!

Go Team MacPhee

I thought about titling this "blessed" or something else but the title really covers whats going on in our house with me trying an endurance event . I suspect every other house where there is more than one person there has a similar notion. This whole adventure isnt me verus the world its the whole family!

Sometimes its hard to keep that in perspective when things are hard. Its easier to focus on the bad than the good. The Dark side is always easier - joke.

So Im going crazy with equipment needs and trying to fit everything in. Kathleen isnt getting any downtime with the kids as Im always out training. David and Isla are getting iritated as they are missing their Dad. Its tough on everyone. So lets face it, the whole family is digging in to make this happen! Thanks Kathleen.

Friday, August 27, 2010

New Songs and good swim

Well I cracked out the itunes card today and bought some new music. I ended up with Tubthumping, Eye of the tiger, Two tribes some nickelback and the Bee Gees! Looking forward to them coming into the mix of my training play list!

The swim went good. I have started getting the hang of using by hips to help kick. I can kick a length now in the same time I can swim a length! Thats weird. However I was a bit tired and nearly puked at the side of the pool. Using the hips to kick means you have to use your torso and I think I have beaten up my core pretty good this week.

1900yds in the pool.

Mind is willing but body - not so much

I did something different today with my run. I have been grinding out miles for a while now and not paying much attention so sprints. I have felt for some time that my cardio system is in brilliant shape my mind is good but to be honest the body just isn't up to it. That's one of things that bugs me about training plans is the focus on Cardio when I need the body to enable me to push the cardio.

So today I ran 5 miles that I am calling speed work, it was lactate thresholds intervals (I guess). I ran a mile a 6mph pace. Then ran the next 3 miles at 6.5/5.5 alternating every 400 meters and then ran the last mile at 6mph for 800m, 6.5 for 400m and 7mph for 400m. Its the first time I can honestly say I was sucking air at the end of that last mile. I felt I had triumphed on some massive level.

Two hours on I'm not tired but I'm still running on a massive adrenaline high. What a difference from the usual grind and the "Phew I got there mentality".

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Tired

Well its been a week, almost, since I Blogged. This week has been tough. I'm having trouble balancing everything again. So here is a summary of the week:
  • I tried out a bunch of nutrition options
  • 15 mile run + 1.5 mile swim on Sunday
  • 31 mile cycle on Tuesday, Hi cadence workout.
  • 7 mile run + 1.25 mile swim on Wednesday
  • Wet suit turned up from the Mall across the road from Top Gun!
Today I'm done. I haven't slept well all week. I have been starting at 7 and finishing at 10/11 every night and then I need down time. So it took me 20 minutes to find my cycling shoes this morning and from that I took the day off.

I'm am still really tired so I'm off to bed early and I will have a kick ass day tomorrow running and swimming.

I hit a milestone this week. 50 pounds off! That was great. I have to keep the momentum going.

There have been a couple of crazy moments this week though. I have almost decided a "Brick" in my house involves the kids. A kick ass workout is followed by some kids activity. My 2 favourites this week were a 30 mile cycle. 10 minutes down time, the cycle to the school for David. The next day a 7 mile run, straight on the bike and biking David up at school. I think its great, 6 months ago any of this would have killed me.

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Good bike

I didn't sleep well last night so Kathleen gave me a lie in. I got around 9 and started preparing for my long ride. The timing stuck so I decided to do it in the afternoon and spend time with the family.

I got on the trail around 4:30 and it was touch and go getting back before sunset. I got in 60 miles. The first 30 miles were brutal with mile 20 to 30 being hard. I did cut through the wind though. I think the cadence work out on Thursday did wonders for this. The hill at the turnaround killed me too. On the way back I was going all out and realized I wouldn't be able to run the next day so with the wind at my back I coasted a bit. In fact it became hard to use high gears to coast so I dropped and found I could go slightly faster at a lower gear and higher cadence. It wasn't as tiring.

So I ran out of water again. I go through 24 oz per 20 miles. I also took along some other foods. They seemed to help tremendously. We headed to the bike shop with my Birthday money and I got a new shirt and shorts and an assortment of nutritional options. More on them on my day off.

Friday, August 20, 2010

Happy Birthday to me!

Its my Birthday so I skipped the swim and ran 6 miles 59:40. That was a great time. I got it in and the we headed out for Curry and I spent the afternoon with the family. The run is getting easier!

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Bad cycle day

Well the cycle went from bad to worse. I planned on an early ride but Kathleen was sick so I pushed it back till after lunch, then thought I would help out with kids and was going at 4pm. Its been drizzly all day so I got ready pushed the bike to the front door and Boom! the start of a thunderstorm. I only had 3 hours to fit it in so I set up the trainer and cycled for an hour. I decided to cut my losses and get something in.

After an hour of high cadence I decided that was enough. Stopping early is turning out to be a good idea. My achilles heal is hurting badly. It hasn't hurt all season and I haven't been on the trainer all season. I'm seeing a connection. Hopefully its fine by tomorrow. This is why I couldn't kick in the pool so is got me a bit nervous.

The cool thing though is I could sit on the trainer for an hour. I couldn't do that in March.

Run and Beer


I managed to get in a 7 mile run today. It went well. Things were getting stressful at work and I finally got on the treadmill at the end of the day. It was relaxing.

Then it was off to a beer meeting.

I also got a different wet suit. They all went on sale 6 hours after I bought mine! So I called up Xterra and they gave me the next one up and free shipping all for an extra 20 dollars! Its getting shipped today.

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Wetsuit ordered!


I just put in an order for my new cool wetsuit. Its an Xterra Volt and is sleeveless. It turns out that I need to lose a lot of weight before I can drop a size. It should be here in early September. I wont look as good as the picture. Imagine a beached whale. Hooray a gadget!

So bike and swim today as I have a meeting tomorrow night.

30 miles on the bike and it was a "fat day" I went out early this morning and the shop steward of my legs decided that 14mph was fast enough for a bit. I got the average up to 16 but I will have to do more early morning cycles as it leaves the day free and it will be where I start on the day.

The swim went well. I got 2 sets mixed up and hurt my arm by going too hard too early. I think by getting my left shoulder out the water I'm getting more power and can go faster but my left shoulder can only take 2 lengths of that. I also need to get my legs and arms to work together. On a kick set I got my 25yd record down to 35 seconds. This is what I do with my arms and legs! Some stupid woman thought it was a good idea to jump out of the hot tub and stand in the middle of my lane or I'm sure I could have done 30 seconds.

Monday, August 16, 2010

Freak out time!

OK its that time again. I'm having a total freak out about the whole thing. I'm on schedule, my spreadsheet looks good but what am I thinking! How far do you want me to go? There are 13 weeks to go! So I'm freaking that my weekday runs do not get above 10 miles, I'm freaking my bike rides wont get above 45 miles on a week day. I'm freaking as I can lose weight.

I didn't sleep well last night as I had convinced myself the swim would take 2.5 hours instead of 1.25 hours. To say I have hit critical mass would be an understatement. I think if I could lose weight I wouldn't be freaking as much but I cant and I have to increase my BP meds, not reduce them whats that all about!

I'm sure it will be fine but I guess it wouldn't be training without a full freak out!

Sunday, August 15, 2010

A real day off.

I woke up groggy again today so I decided to take a day off. I'm puzzled at whats going on as I really ramped the exercise down this week. The upside to this is I spent the day with the family and got a couple of things done. I sorted out my bike and Davids bike and then got bored so I started looking at the broken sprinkler.

I didn't realise until this evening that I have had a day off with no work and no exercise in forever! Its been a good day but I'm still very light headed and at a lose end. The other thing weird about recovery weeks as they lack drive. I like to feel I have accomplished something every week and this is a week where nothing is accomplished.

I looked at a couple of alternate routes along the Platte river today too. Doing the Cherry Creek and Platte River loop is about 70 miles. I also looked at going out the bear creek trail, that's about 70 miles too. So I have some options for a couple of weeks from now.

Saturday, August 14, 2010

Rubbish recovery bike ride.

I woke up feeling absolute rubbish today to the point where I had to go back to bed for a bit. Kathleen convinced me to go for my ride so I headed out from the house to Golden. It turned out Golden isn't far enough so I ended up at "The gates of hell" better know as the entrance to the Denver parks system and the start of the climb up lookout mountain (Did I mention I hate climbing).

I didn't feel better during any of the ride at all and I entered clear creek canyon only to discover its off limits to bikes! Anyway I got the 45 miles in and 2000 feet of climbing (Did I mention I hate climbing).

Its 14 miles to outdoor soccer. Maybe I could run there one day and cheer the team on.

Friday, August 13, 2010

Run, Swim, Soccer

The run went well, I was a bit tired and didn't want to do it. I took it easy and had to keep reminding myself its a recovery week and I need to recover. 6 miles in.

I chose a different Gym for my swim today as I'm tired of the shenanigans at my usual haunts. I liked it! There weren't people hanging about and the guy at the front desk was energized and happy. He even seemed to want to chat to people. I may try that Gym again and maybe take the kids too. 1550 yards in.

My Friday soccer team was short tonight as the Goal Keeper couldn't play due to his brothers wedding. Talk about priority problems. So I got to play, It was brilliant! I have to say I do miss football big time. Competing and training are 2 very different things. Anyway I got a shutout and we won 6-0. I was out of breath within 2 minutes but it all worked out. Only one idiot tried to run through me and all I could think of was "Uh oh there goes my knee". Not to worry though my knee is fine.

Thursday, August 12, 2010

17.0

I cycled a great cycle today. My average was 17.0! Overall 16.8 but at my marker it was 17. That's the fastest in along time. I'm labeling it record so I can see if I get faster. What a great day. I did a slightly different route today as I'm a bit sick of coal creek canyon road.

I'm still bummed about the crank but I will get over it. Its nice not too feel exhausted this week.

Still worried on Calories but them's the breaks.

Recovery Week and compact cranks.

Its a recovery week and boy do I need it. I have been very tired the last week.

I blew the start of my bike ride today. I went out using the high gears as I can do those now without much problem. However my knee isnt up for that out of the blocks. By mile 5 I was in trouble. However I was able to nurse it and ended up keeping an average of 15mph. Its a recovery week so thats good and it was a good bit of training in case this happens on race day.

I discovered a bit of bad news at the weekend with regards to my bike. There is always the argument about cadence. I like the concept of high cadence but as I haven't done that most of my life its hard to reprogram my brain to take that into account. What I found out was my crank is a compact crank. Which means less teeth. Last year on downhill I could easily hit 40mph this year its about 33 before I run out of legs. I had thought I was dreaming but its the gear ratio.

Compact is great for hills and cadence riders however not the best for downhill top speed or from what I can tell a Time Trial (Ironman is a TT). This is where I make up my time after climbing. So I thought Ill replace the crank it was 200 for a new back cassette. Well it ain't going to happen! A new front crank is about 300-600 plus a new derailer. For the most part it wont matter in Arizona but there is a 5 mile downhill section I would have liked to go faster on.

I didn't know a compact existed. I learned something new!