Sunday, September 5, 2010

The dreaded long run and swim day.

Well this day is turning into the cant do day. I'm at the point now where I hate the mileage, its not fun anymore. I talk to Kathleen about quitting and how I cant do this but I'm still at it.

So 17 miles. Target 12 minute miles. So off I go at 11 minute mile pace as I really don't like jogging too slow as its too much thinking over a long period. I did the first 3 at 11 then dropped to 12 and alternated for a while. I hit mile 12 and started feeling awful again. This must be a wall or something. I stopped, I sat down, I started, I stopped, then I started walking. I walked 400 meters and started running again. I ended up doing this for the next 5 miles. So I did it and I did it in just over 12 minute miles. The last 5 miles were 14 minute miles.

So I did it. What does this mean? It means a re plan on running over 13 miles. I have never trained for anything over this distance, the body obviously remembers that distance and nothing more. Ill push for 19 next weekend as I have beer fest the week after.

Movies: The Sword and The Sorcerer - brilliant swashbuckler! Taken - fun.

The swim was a biggie! 3200yds. I did it and people commented I was so proud of myself. This weekend I did a 76 mile bike ride, 17 mile run and a 1.75 mile swim. Who does that? Well not me before!

No comments:

Post a Comment