Well I was reading the FAQs on the Ironman to find out some information when I came across a rather rotten rule. I will be disqualified if I run across the line with David and Isla. An extension of that is that the previous Triathlons I have done its also banned now as the Ironman brand owns them too. The A types have won again!
Their argument, which is valid, is that if I run down the chute then I might stop someones PR. My argument is if you need to pile down a finishing chute after running, cycling and swimming for 12+ hours to get 2 more seconds you need some serious help.
As usual it is the most vocal people who win the day and I wonder how many family competitors are being penalized for this. This is a full family expedition and has involved everyone giving something. I had hoped that the finishing line would show my kids the fun of competing against yourself. In some ways it has already.
My triathlete magazine has also got rid of all the columnists and trainers who see the event as something fun to do. What a shame the world is turning this way.
So DQ or no DQ? Well Im thinking at that point Ill be so dead Ill fall over the line. Its a hard one but will probably go with no DQ. Oh aye and its my friends dime so Ill definately be finishing.
Monday, October 18, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


No comments:
Post a Comment