OK so 90 miles today. Im really starting to miss my family and I thought the signs saying "Can I have my Daddy back" at the finish of races were a joke! Sadly they are not.
I had Davids soccer which I have to pat myself on the back for as the team is awesome! OK maybe its how they all play at home and have fun but Ill take the credit.
Once the soccer was over its off out on the bike. I was carrying 176 oz of liquids as there was no where to get resupplied at that's 11lbs! So the plan was out Cherry Creek and then back, then down the Platte river as usual. The evil cherry creek trail got me again. I had to go 12 miles along it but at mile 7 I hit a road with no signs on where to go. So I headed back to do ralston trail. That was a good idea as I can now get on the trail system from my house. I ended up going past my indoor soccer and ended about a mile from outdoor soccer. This is good news for the future.
So after that its down Platte river, Bear creek, c470 and back on the Platte river. I have heard the term when you go on a long ride your moods will change and just persevere. This was obviously true today. I hit a huge low at mile 45 just before the bear creek climb and didn't recover until mile 65 but I kicked it up a notch and got a good rhythm going. Massive head wind today and my aero bars broke. Nothing that cant be fixed. I think I have a mental block when I up my mileage so Im glad Ill have done the distances before the race so that I know I can do them.
I need to get out earlier too as it was getting dark at the end. I hope we have no more 10am games or I'm in real trouble.
I think I'm done with accelerade. I think its the reason for my lows recently as when I switch to just water or Gatorade I seem to feel like I perform better. Don't get me wrong it works for some people and I may have the mix wrong but I'm done with it. I read an interesting article on all these things. Salt Pills seem to be the way to go. Here is the article http://www.bengreenfieldfitness.com
No map today as I forgot my Garmin - sorry Ray for not using the Garmin.
On another side not. Some people have been leaving comments I have been replying to them by email but just discovered that goes to a big black hole in Google. So I haven't been ignoring people I just don't know what I'm doing!
Saturday, October 16, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


No comments:
Post a Comment