I did something different today with my run. I have been grinding out miles for a while now and not paying much attention so sprints. I have felt for some time that my cardio system is in brilliant shape my mind is good but to be honest the body just isn't up to it. That's one of things that bugs me about training plans is the focus on Cardio when I need the body to enable me to push the cardio.
So today I ran 5 miles that I am calling speed work, it was lactate thresholds intervals (I guess). I ran a mile a 6mph pace. Then ran the next 3 miles at 6.5/5.5 alternating every 400 meters and then ran the last mile at 6mph for 800m, 6.5 for 400m and 7mph for 400m. Its the first time I can honestly say I was sucking air at the end of that last mile. I felt I had triumphed on some massive level.
Two hours on I'm not tired but I'm still running on a massive adrenaline high. What a difference from the usual grind and the "Phew I got there mentality".
Friday, August 27, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


No comments:
Post a Comment